Mr Mercedes; Stephen King

mr mercedes

I think it’s becoming quite clear that I’m a little bit in love with Stephen King’s books.  I think this is the darkest of King’s books I’ve read so far.  That being said, I think it’s also my favourite.

 [The Plot]:  A cat-and-mouse suspense thriller featuring Bill Hodges, a retired cop who is tormented by ‘the Mercedes massacre’, a case he never solved.
Brady Hartsfield, perpetrator of that notorious crime, has sent Hodges a taunting letter. Now he’s preparing to kill again.
Each starts to close in on the other in a mega-stakes race against time.

When I picked up this book, I didn’t really know what to expect.  I had read the back, but I didn’t go to the extent of looking up reviews or scrolling through Goodreads.  When I started the book, I felt really sorry for Bill and I didn’t really know what direction the book would take him in.  Bill is seriously considering suicide and has no fear in him about death and what little he has to leave behind.  When he receives the letter form Brady, it’s almost like a spark has been lit and he has something to focus on again.

As you read about Brady, it doesn’t seem possible at first but he gets more and more dark and disturbed as the book goes on.  There is no way you could really fully understand his as a person, but It’s interesting to read from his view.  Instead of just hearing from Bill, you get to see into the bizarre ways Brady justifies his actions and his way of thinking.

The more I read, the more I wanted Bill to catch Brady so badly and give him what he deserves.  As you are reading from both Bill and Brady’s point of view, you know what they are both planning. I found myself getting anxious and het-up at the thought of Bill not figuring out Brady’s plan in time.  But as I got closer to the end of the book, I was cheering certain characters on and I couldn’t possibly put the book down until I found out if they had caught him.  Without giving too much away,  it’s nice to see Bill have a semi-happy ending.  At the beginning of the book he is lonely, retired and on the verge of suicide.  So, just the fact that he has pulled himself together and even has a couple of people he considers friends is nice to read about.

I rate this book five out of five stars.

five star

Those were just my bookish thoughts, but I would love to hear yours in the comments below.

Please like,share and follow if you enjoyed this post, and feel free to leave recommendations in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Mr Mercedes; Stephen King

Leave a Reply

