Bookshelf Tour; September 2015

1

I’ve been toying with the idea of a bookshelf tour for quite a while now, I just wasn’t quite sure how I was going to achieve it best in blog form.  I apologise for the images not really being of the best quality, but I hope you enjoy a look round my bookshelf and how I organise my books.  Keeping my books in any organised state is a constant work in progress, as my collection just keeps growing and growing and my room isn’t exactly the largest… hopefully in the future I will be able to expand on my bookshelves and create  solutions that works better for me.

2The top section of my bookshelves look a little like this.  The very top shelf contains a mixture of books including my collection of classics, cook books and the one graphic novel I own (I intend on expanding this collection in the very near future, so stay posted for a review!).  The second shelf houses my Harry Potter collection.  On the right you can see the full series of books I have collected from the age of 7 or 8 years old.  They hold a very special place in my life and I couldn’t face just sitting them within all my other books.  On the left you can see my signature collection box set of books, which are completely untouched (they looked so beautiful in the box, I didn’t want to spoil it by breaking their spines!), and my collection of wands, chocolate frog, time turner etc.  The third shelf (which is the middle of the bookshelves overall), I use as a dressing table.  On the right is where i apply my make up and do my hair, I keep my mirror, makeup brushes and hair accessories here.  On the left I have all of my products for both my hair and skin, my vanity case which holds my every day makeup and a lipstick stand for my most used lipsticks.

2

From this point of my bookcase down, I have tried to keep the books grouped by genre.  The fourth shelf mainly contains fantasy and distopian books, as you can see the likes of Twilight, Poison Study, Hunger Games, Maze Runner and many more.  The Fifth shelf continues along the same theme with the Morganville Vampire series, Game of Thrones and Mortal Instruments, however the right hand side of this shelf is a bit of a miscellaneous shelf.  Most of the books in this little shelf are books I have recently acquired or want to read soon. The sixth shelf contains my crime/ thriller and horror books, as you can see there is a collection of Stephen King, James Patterson, Dexter by Jeff Lindsey and loads more.  The bottom shelf loosely follows the same theme with authors including Jefferson Bass, Karen Long and Karin Slaughter.  Again the bottom right shelf is very different and contains a small stash of my favourite childhood books, these include the goosebumps books and Jacqueline Wilson.  I also use this space to tidy away my hair styling tools.

4

Finally, as I ran out of room on my bookshelves, I had to add 2 runs of wall shelves alongside them.  The top shelf here contains a random assortment of book that I couldn’t place neatly within my bigger bookcase.  These include American Sniper, The miniaturist and some old University text books. The bottom shelf contains mainly my girly, chick lit books.  These include Girl Online by Zoe Sugg, an assortment of Paige Toon books and Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

I’d love to see how you organise your books, and hear of any tips and tricks you have for housing a lot of books in a small space.

Please like,share and follow if you enjoyed this post, and feel free to leave recommendations in the comments.

Leave a Reply

