Waiting for Doggo: Mark B. Mills

waiting for doggo

As a huge dog person, just the little illustration on the cover caught my eye.  After reading the blurb, I really wasn’t sure what to expect but I was intrigued and after a couple of pages, I was hooked.

[The Plot]: Dear Daniel, I’m going away, a long way away.  I can’t tell you where…
Take Doggo back, you can’t leave him shut up n the flat all day.  It wouldn’t be fair on him, and it’s not like the two of you have hit it off.
Love and Light,
Clara xxx

Mills has written what I think is the perfect holiday book.  It’s short, it’s a light read, it’s funny and if I’m honest, it’s just  a happy little story.

Daniel is left in a bit of a sticky situation when his girlfriend, Clara, leaves him and the dog she adopted to travel the world.  At the beginning of the book, Dan has no affection for Doggo, he is an ugly little mutt who hasn’t especially taken to Dan either, or anyone for that matter.

The book has a rom-com feel to it, which is really interesting when it’s solely written from the male’s point of view.  Throughout the book, Dan slowly learns to love Doggo, through all of his flaws and with this new affection Doggo becomes really attached to Dan.  Dan takes Doggo everywhere he goes, he even takes him to his new job.  The better the relationship between Dan and Doggo, the better everything else in Dan’s life seems to be.  He is excelling in his new job and building new relationships, he is putting Clara out of his mind and using his new found free time to move on with his life.

As a dog lover myself, I really admired Dan and Doggo’s relationship and how it grew.  Dan no longer tolerates Doggo bit has learnt to love him and takes really good care of him.  He even sticks up for Doggo and confronts a colleague who was trying to stop him coming to work with Dan.

One of the great things about this book was that Mills didn’t feel the need for adding ridiculous events or plot twist, it’s just a simple story about how the new found relationship of a man and his dog can completely change your outlook on life.

I absolutely flew through this book and read it in one sitting. I’d love to hear some suggestions of other mark Mills books with picking up in the comments below!

I rate this book four out of five stars.

four star

Those were just my bookish thoughts, but I would love to hear yours in the comments below.

Please like,share and follow if you enjoyed this post, and feel free to leave recommendations in the comments.

Leave a Reply

