The Fade Out; Ed Brubaker & Sean Phillips

Fadeout

The Fade out was a completely new reading experience for me, as I have never read a graphic novel before. After seeing a couple of people mention The Fade Out within the book tube community and thought I would give it a go.

[The Plot]: An intricate and groundbreaking crime story on a level Brubaker and Phillips have never tackled before, THE FADE OUT weaves a tangled web through the underbelly of a 1948 Hollywood… A noir film stuck in endless reshoots. A writer plagued with nightmares from the war and a dangerous secret. An up-and-coming starlet’s suspicious death. And a maniacal studio mogul and his security chief who will do anything to keep the cameras rolling before the Post-War boom days come crashing down. THE FADE OUT is the most ambitious series yet from the award-winning Noir Masters.

As I’ve already said, this was the first graphic novel I’ve read, and to be honest, I was really pleasantly surprised. Being the completely naive person that I am, I always assumed graphic novels were just for super heirs and really ‘geeky’… as if being a 100% bookworm isn’t geeky enough.  However, after hearing about a couple on blogs and youtube, I was really interested in the different genres included in graphic novels.

The Fade Out is a very dark and sinister murder mystery story based in 1940s Hollywood.   I’ve always been a fan of this time in history and that’s what really attracted me to read this in the first place.  And as a fan of crime / thriller books, I think I found the perfect graphic novel to get me started.  I really enjoyed the different reading format and the imagery in The Fade Out is really  amazing and fits in perfectly with the Noir genre.

I really enjoyed reading The Fade Out and loved how face paced it was.  I would love to hear your recommendations in the comment below of any graphic novels you love and think I should pick up.

I rate this book four out of five stars.

four star

Those were just my bookish thoughts, but I would love to hear yours in the comments below.

Please like,share and follow if you enjoyed this post, and feel free to leave recommendations in the comments.

Leave a Reply

