Even Angels Fall; F L Darbyshire

Even Angels Fall

Even Angels Fall by F L Darbyshire isn’t the type of book I would typically pick up, however, when Fay contacted me offering to send me the book in exchange of an honest review, I took to Goodreads to see if it was something I would be interested in.  After reading the blurb and a couple of reviews, it had definitely sparked an interest.

[The Plot]: After suffering an unthinkable loss, Abbey Miller and her family move to Leeds to rebuild their lives and start again, but the pain and grief that Abbey carries with her is impossible to escape. As she finds herself becoming increasingly isolated from her family, she develops a firm friendship with Lucy, Nathan and Liam, who introduce her to a brand new and exciting world, far removed from all of her problems. But will her new friends bring her the light hearted relief she has longed for? Or will she find herself getting drawn deep into their dangerous and intoxicating world?

I want to start with saying, straight away, that this book isn’t for the faint hearted.  There are some really serious issues that are dealt with throughout this book and it really takes you on an emotional roller coaster.

At the very beginning of the book, we learn about Abbey’s traumatic year and how she has had to deal with not only the loss of her twin brother, but also the fact that her family is falling apart.  I don’t think I’ve felt this passionate whilst reading in a long time, and as we learn more about Abbey and her family, the more angry I was with both her mother and her brother.  I had to keep telling myself that they are not real people, they are just characters.  However, Fay’s writing made me feel like they were genuine people who were treating Abbey in this way and I couldn’t help myself but hate them, and just feel so angry that I had to put the book down for the afternoon.

As the story progresses, things get worse and worse with Abbey and her family.  However, she finds solitude in her new friends and takes on a whole new lifestyle.  In order to breakaway from the family who dismiss her when she needs them most, Abbey takes to skipping class and partying with her new friends.  Slowly but surely Abbey becomes a part of their ‘group’, eventually taking recreational drugs and moving in with her new boyfriend.  While Abbey’s choices go against everything I have ever believed in, I couldn’t help but be happy for her.  She has a new supportive structure surrounding her, new friends who would do anything for her.  A boyfriend who loves her.  And most importantly she is dealing with her grief instead of burying it away like her family had been doing for the last year.

I don’t want to give away too many spoilers as I really think this is a book you should all read, and get the full impact as the story twist and turns.  But I will say that things slowly start to spiral out of control and Abbey has to face some big and serious decisions.

Even Angels Fall is Fay’s debut novel and I think she has done an incredible job.  It was so emotional and captivating that after taking a small break after getting angry at Abbey’s family, I couldn’t put the book back down.

I rate this book four out of five stars.

four star

Those were just my bookish thoughts, but I would love to hear yours in the comments below.

Please like,share and follow if you enjoyed this post, and feel free to leave recommendations in the comments.

Leave a Reply

